I had some thoughts in reaction to Drew’s latest video – I say it that way because it’s not about the controversy itself. There were some interesting ideas underlying a couple of his arguments that I wanted to dig into.

I forgot to mention this in the video, but that second point about creators “staying in their lane” was also reconfirmed by the financial success and mixed critical reception of Iron Lung. What Markiplier accomplished is incredible – a middling aggregate critics score does not take away from that. He did not need to wait until he was a master director to put out something meaningful to him. The project fulfilled enough of Markilpier’s vision that it is resonating with his followers. It would be insane to say “Iron Lung was mid, he should stick to screaming while playing video games on YouTube.”

And, as a bonus – though I am trying to keep these posts more single subject, I did want to share my second assignment for my comics class. ❤